Home Page



About NAOP



Goals



Interns and Mentors



Internship Outcome



VIDEO/Documentary



GWC Internship Program


NAOP Mentors and Interns

Participants includes both Mentors and Interns. Shown here are brief bibliographies and a picture.





Dr. Carolyn Lawrence was raised in Throckmorton, Texas on a dry-land wheat farm and small-scale cattle ranch. After completing high school in Cleburne, Texas, she received a BA in biology from Hendrix College in Conway, Arkansas, an MS in biology from Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas, and a PhD in Botany from The University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia. From 2003 to 2005 she was a postdoctoral associate for Volker Brendel at Iowa State University. Currently, she is a Research Geneticist for the USDA-ARS and serves as the Director of the MaizeGDB project (http://www.maizegdb.org). Carolyn's interests include gardening and home renovation, both of which are largely neglected as she and husband David chase after their young son, Elliot.
Candice (Candy) Gardner was raised on a NE Iowa family farm and was involved in production of hogs, cattle, poultry, eggs, corn, beans, hay, and farmer?s market vegetables. After graduating from Charles City, IA, she received as BS in Bacteriology from Iowa State University in Ames, IA, an MS in Plant Pathology from the University of Missouri-Columbia, and a PhD in Plant Breeding and Genetics from the University of Missouri-Columbia. As a maize researcher for Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc. from 1982-1997, she managed a corn research program in Missouri and developed inbred lines and commercial hybrids to meet growers? needs for stable, high yield and stress tolerance. Her efforts as a biotechnology development specialist with Aventis (1998-1999) focused on development and commercialization of traits for insect resistance, herbicide tolerance, and pollination control. Since 1999, she has served as the Research Leader for the USDA-ARS Plant Introduction Research Unit and the Coordinator of the North Central Regional Plant Introduction Station. Candy?s personal energies focus around raising two teen-age sons, Chris and Michael, with husband Mark, and also include gardening, native plants and star-gazing.
Dr. Suzanne Hendrich
Ben Herman was raised in Centerville, IA where he resided until graduating high school. He then entered the U.S. Air Force as a Security Policeman and was stationed in Wyoming, Montana, and Turkey. Upon being honorably discharged from the military, Ben attended Iowa State University and finished a degree in Animal Ecology. He also holds a M.A.T. in Science Education also from Iowa State University and a M.S. in Wildlife Resources from the University of Idaho. His professional experiences include being a Park Ranger for the Corps of Engineers, a Fisheries Technician for Arizona Game and Fish, and a Secondary Science Teacher. He is currently the Mentor for the Native American Outreach program and will be attending Iowa State University in the fall to finish his PhD. in Science Education. His hobbies include fishing, SCUBA diving, and traveling.
Hello, my name is Nathan Etsitty and I am from Cowsprings, Arizona. I attend Northern Arizona University as a senior majoring in Community Health and Athletic Training. I am a member of the Navajo Nation tribe located near the four corners area where Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, and Colorado meet. I am identified by my tribe as the Bitter Water people, born for the Big Water people, and my grandparents are Red Streak Running into the Water people and the Edge Water people. My interest include playing sports, being active, and just having a good time making life for me as interesting as possible. In the realm of sports, I love to play basketball, football, baseball, and poker. I'm basically an all around sports guy who loves to watch ESPN and see what's happening in the sports world. Most importantly, I just love to have a good time and make others around me smile as well. My college career was a crazy one with a lot of loops of changing majors multiple times. I had my fair share of being a psychology major, business major, public relations major, and a physical therapy major as well. In the end, I settled for a career in Community Health and Athletic Training because I want to help others and myself. For my professional career, I want to be involved with helping others and with that mindset I figured Community Health and Athletic Training as a major would fit. When it comes down to it, helping others is a top priority next to sports in my life. As for career goals, they would have to be being happy with my job, a good salary, and a job that opens more opportunities for me. Just being able to be happy with my job means doing what I love each day not loosing any interest. Having a good salary enables me to do what I love while still allowing me to come back each day. Having more opportunities at the job site allows me to go places and make a name for myself, thus creating more chances for improvements to be made, making the job site more interesting.
My name is Lamour Peshtony-Thompson, originally from the Navajo Nation in a little community called Hardrock, AZ. My interests are working with computers and law enforcement agencies. My college career at this point is at the sophomore level. I'm currently attending Northern Arizona University and have been through community colleges. Currently, I am participating in the George Washington Carver Internship Program as an intern working for the Native American Outreach Program working with computers. This compliments my professional career, which consists of working with computers to complete a variety of computer tasks from simple word-processing to web building. I also am working with the Navajo Nation Police, Fire, and EMS back in Arizona. My career goals are to finish college and receive my computer engineering degree. Then start working on my Criminal Justice Degree so it can become useful when I'm trying to apply for a position in law enforcement.
Hello, my name is Marcus Taylor Begay. I am from a very small town called Blue Gap, AZ. Home is where the heart is, and I'm proud to say that my heart is in Blue Gap, where my family resides. I am a part of the Navajo Nation, the largest Native American Tribe in the world. I'm also proud to say that I speak the Navajo Language fluently. With honor and dignity, I accepted to participate in the 2008 George Washington Carver Summer Internship Program. I graduated from Chinle High School in 2005. After high school I wasn't sure about what my next move was going to be, and then a couple day's later my uncle offered me a good paying job working construction. Eventually, I took the job and the pay was great. With the amount of money I was earning, I was able to help my family financially. I continued to work in the construction industry for six months before deciding that I did not want to work ten hours a day for many years to come. Therefore, I decided that it was time for me to go back to school. I enrolled at Adams State College in Alamosa, CO with the intention of becoming a teacher. When I arrived at ASC, I soon realized that it wasn't the school for me, but I managed to hang in there for two weeks before I decided that I had to go to a different school. Then I enrolled at Northern Arizona University, where I am currently pursuing a degree in Elementary Education. Northern Arizona University has given me an opportunity to work with students at a local high school as part of a mentoring program. This program called the Native American Business Organization (NABO) volunteers a lot of their time to mentor local Native American students who reside in a residence hall away from home to attend Flagstaff High School. The organization is open to all students from many diverse majors. During the mentoring program, we help students with their school work along with their homework. We also offer sessions that help build leadership and teamwork skills among the students. I plan on continuing this program as long as I'm in school. In the fall of 2007, I was offered another opportunity to work with local elementary students as a part of my class project. Through this opportunity, I volunteered to put in at least three hours a week to be a teacher assistant. Some weeks I put in more than the minimum three hours, because I enjoyed what I was doing and I was gaining valuable experience. After working with the elementary students, I told myself again that I was definitely becoming a teacher. My career goal is to become a teacher and a football and wrestling coach at the same high school I graduated from. Through the years, my teachers have always encouraged me to do my best in the classroom and ensured me that success will come in time. Outside the classroom, my coaches encouraged me to give my best in everything I do. My wrestling coach has always addressed me as a gentleman, to be addressed as a gentleman is a sign of respect, and to receive the respect of my coach tells me that someone believes that you're going to be successful one day. My biggest supporter and motivator is my mom who has always been there me through the good and bad times. In return, I show my appreciation by living up to her expectations. Without any expectations to strive for, I wouldn't be where I am now. Based on my lifelong experiences, I chose my career goal to become an educator and coach. My interests include playing just about any type of sport, hanging out with friends and listening to all type's music. Other interests include playing poker, working at home and seeking other opportunities that may seem interesting.